The Crew of the Aircraft, Which had Undergone a Crash in Sudan were Armenians (updated)


The Crisis Management National Center of the RA MTAES had established a connection with the Crisis Management Centre (CMC) of the Ministry of Emergency Situations of the Russian Federation, in order to clarify details about the crew of AN-12 crashed on November 4, in South Sudan. According to preliminary data 5 of 6 crew members were citizens of the Republic of Armenia.

The names of the crew members of AH-12 plane crashed in South Sudan have become known:

According to the preliminary information disseminated by Armenia’s MFA, the members were:


  1. Pilot-in-commad - Gevorg Tovmasyan
  2. Second pilot - Samvel Hambartsumyan
  3. Panel operator - Samvel Mrtchyan
  4. Aeromechanic - Armen Antonyan
  5. Aeromechanic - Suren Petrosyan

The plane belonged to Tajik airline company Asia Airways.

← Back to the list

Hot line